Our research

NNRL group photo 0f 2018

Retinal neurodegenerative diseases are a major cause of untreatable blindness worldwide. Neurobiology Neurodegeneration & Repair Laboratory (NNRL) scientists are defining fundamental biological pathways that guide differentiation of retinal neurons (such as photoreceptors and ganglion cells), elucidating genetic and biological defects associated with aging and neurodegeneration, and evaluating gene- and cell-based treatment modalities using stem cells and mouse models.

Neurobiology Neurodegeneration & Repair Laboratory key staff

Key staff table
Name Title Email Phone
Anand P. Swaroop, Ph.D. Lab Chief swaroopa@nei.nih.gov 301-435-5754
Arturo Rivera, M.S. Research Assistant arturo.rivera@nih.gov 301-443-8451
Charles Drinnan, Ph.D. Biologist–Stem Cells charlie.drinnan@nih.gov 301-443-7399
Jacob Nellissery, Ph.D. Technical Lab Manager jacob.nellissery@nih.gov 301-443-4996
Jessica Gumerson, Ph.D. Biologist–Cell Biology/Microscopy jessica.gumerson@nih.gov 301-594-1121
Linn Gieser, B.S. Biologist–Genomic Technologies linn.gieser@nih.gov 301-451-6063
Lucia Lawrence Administrative Lab Manager lawrencel@mail.nih.gov 301-435-6149
Matthew Brooks, B.S. Biologist–Computational Biology brooksma@nih.gov 301-443-4906
Milton A. English, Ph.D. Biologist–Genomic Technologies milton.english@nih.gov 301-443-5296
Sharyn Ferrara Administrative Specialist ferraras@nei.nih.gov 734-788-7518
Yide Mi Animal Services Technician yidem@nei.nih.gov
Zachary Batz, Ph.D. Biologist zachary.batz@nih.gov 301-435-6149
Last updated: October 2019