Home > NEHEP Programs > About NEHEP > NEHEP Planning Committee

National Eye Health Education Program (NEHEP)

NEHEP Planning Committee

NEHEP is supported by a Planning Committee. The NEHEP Planning Committee is composed of experts in eye health, health education, and health disparities. Planning Committee members bring a vast array of knowledge about eye health and experience with populations at higher risk for eye disease. Planning Committee responsibilities include:

  • Recommending NEHEP program priorities.
  • Advising the overall development, implementation, and evaluation of NEHEP activities.
  • Reviewing NEHEP materials and resources.
  • Recommending new opportunities for NEHEP to achieve its goals and objectives.
  • Facilitating cooperation among the NEHEP Partnership.

Current Planning Committee members include:

Eduardo C. Alfonso, M.D.
Department of Ophthalmology
Bascom Palmer Eye Institute

Richard S. Baker, M.D.
Jules Stein Eye Institute
University of California, Los Angeles

Mario C. Browne, M.P.H., CHES
Office of Health Sciences Diversity
University of Pittsburgh

Hanna Rodriguez Coleman, M.D.
New York-Presbyterian Hospital-Columbia

Robert A. Copeland, Jr., M.D.
Department of Ophthalmology
Howard University

Suber S. Huang, M.D., M.B.A.

Retina Center of Ohio

Judy E. Kim, M.D.
Medical College of Wisconsin

Janet Leasher, O.D., M.P.H., F.A.A.O.
College of Optometry/College of Osteopathic Medicine
Nova Southeastern University

Michael Maldonado, O.D.
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Jullia A. Rosdahl, M.D., Ph.D.
Duke Eye Center
Duke University

James Tsai, M.D.
New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mt. Sinai

Mark E. Wilkinson, O.D.
Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine