Home > Research at NEI > NEI Intramural Events, Meetings and Conferences > Laboratory of Molecular and Developmental Biology 25th Anniversary Symposium

Laboratory of Molecular and Developmental Biology 25th Anniversary Symposium

Lister Hill Auditorium, Building 38A
National Institutes of Health
September 17-19, 2006

LMDB research has grown with the times and has always strived to remain on the forefront of new technology and ways of thinking, but the fundamental thrust from the beginning – to investigate the visual system at the molecular level while using the eye as a model for understanding the molecular, developmental and evolutionary genetics of eukaryotic cells – has remained its anchor.Laboratory of Molecular and Developmental Biology 25th Anniversary Symposium cover


Sunday, September 17

6:00 p.m. Opening Meeting
Hyatt Regency Hotel, Bethesda

Monday, September 18

NIH Campus, Lister Hill Auditorium

8:00 a.m. Introductory Remarks
8:30 a.m. Carl Kupfer (former NEI Director)
8:35 a.m. Paul Sieving (present NEI Director)
8:40 a.m. Scientific Overview LMDB: Joram Piatigorsky (Chief, LMDB, NEI)

Eye and Lens Growth
8:50 a.m. Cheryl Craft : Moderator (University of Southern California School of Medicine, Doheny Eye Institute, Los Angeles CA)
8:55 a.m. David Beebe (Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO)
9:20 a.m. Peggy Zelenka (LMDB, NEI)
9:45 a.m. Melinda Duncan (University of Delaware, Newark, DE)
10:10 a.m. Ernst Tamm (University of Regensburg, Regensburg, Germany)
10:35 a.m. Coffee Break

Crystallin Gene Expression
10:55 a.m. Ana Chepelinsky, Moderator (FIC/NIH, NEI)
11:00 a.m. Ales Cvekl (Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY)
11:25 a.m. Suraj Bhat (UCLA School of Medicine, Jules Stein Institute, Los Angeles, CA)
11:50 a.m. Eric Wawrousek (LMDB, NEI)
12:15 p.m. Lunch

Eye Disease
1:15 p.m. Venkat Reddy, Moderator: (Kellogg Eye Center, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor MI)
1:20 p.m. Toshimichi Shinohara (University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha NE)
1:45 p.m. Marc Kantorow (Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton FL)
2:10 p.m. George Inana (University of Miami School of Medicine, Bascom Palmer Institute, Miami FL)
2:35 p.m. Teresa Borras (University of North Carolina School of Medicine, Chapel Hill NC)
3:00 p.m. Stanislav Tomarev (LMDB, NEI)
3:25 p.m. Group Photograph of all Participants
3:30 - 5:00 p.m. POSTERS
7:00 p.m. Banquet, Hyatt Regency Hotel
Informal Evening Speaker: Joseph Horwitz, Other comments, as desired

Tuesday, September 19

NIH Campus, Lister Hill Auditorium

Eye Disease and Industry
8:30 a.m. Rashmi Gopal-Srivastava, Moderator (OD, NIH)
8:35 a.m. C. Richter King (Gen/Vec, Inc., Gaithersburg, MD)
9:00 a.m. C. Andrew Cuthbertson (CSL Limited, Victoria, Australia)

Protein Structure and Function
9:25 a.m. Vasilis Vasiliou, Moderator (University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver CO)
9:30 a.m. Joseph Horwitz (UCLA School of Medicine, Jules Stein Institute, Los Angeles CA)
9:55 a.m. J. Fielding Hejtmancik (OGVFB, NEI)
10:20 a.m. John Nickerson (Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta GA)
10:45 a.m. Coffee Break (20 minutes)

Eye Evolution and the Diversity of Protein Functions
11:05 a.m. James Jester, Moderator (Eye Institute, University of California at Irvine, Irvine CA)
11:10 a.m. Zbynek Kozmik (Institute of Molecular Genetics, Prague, Czech Republic)
11:35 a.m. Joram Piatigorsky (LMDB, NEI)

Concluding Remarks
12:00 p.m. Sheldon Miller (Scientific Director, NEI)

2006 LMDB Anniversary Symposium Planning Committee

Joram Piatigorsky
Peggy Zelenka
Eric Wawrousek
Stanislav Tomarev
Janine Davis
Belinda Davis—Event Coordinator