Immunopathology Section

Staff Picture
Immunopathology: Lower row: Drs. Liliana Guedez (left), Chi-Chao Chan (center), Mones Abu-Asab (right) Upper row: Drs. Jingsheng Tuo (far left), Ian Yeung (center left), Mr. Cristopher Ardeljan (center right), Nicholas Popp (far right)


Histology Core Staff Picture
Histopathology Core: Back row from left to right: Mrs. Janelle Coles, Mrs. Iris Wise, Dr. Mones Abu-Asab, Mr. Christopher Ardeljan, Dr. Ian Yeung. Front row: Dr. Chi-Chao Chan, Mrs. Michelle Roof

Current Research

Research activities and goals are divided into two main areas:

(1) Research on clinical specimens with the aims of sharpening diagnosis, understanding disease pathogenesis, and improving patient management: The focus is on two diseases, primary vitreoretinal lymphoma and age-related macular degeneration.

(2) Research on model systems of experimental eye diseases: The goal here is to study different pathological conditions mimicking various human ocular diseases such as degeneration, inflammation, and neoplasm; and to evaluate the effects of new therapeutic agents on these models.

Genetic targeted ocular disease models

Ocular tumor models

Ocular inflammatory models

Staff

Name Title E-mail
Chi-Chao Chan, M.D.
PubMed Author Search
Section Head chanc@nei.nih.gov
Jingsheng Tuo, M.D., Ph.D. Staff Scientist TuoJ@nei.nih.gov
Liliana Guedez, Ph.D. Senior Biologist iliana.guedez@nih.gov
Ian Yeung, M.D. Post-doctoral Fellow ian.yeung@nih.gov
Nicholas Popp, B.S. Post-baccalaureate IRTA Fellow nicholas.popp@nih.gov
Histopathology Core
Chi-Chao Chan, M.D. Head, Histology Core chanc@nei.nih.gov
Iris Wise Lead Histologist milleri@intra.nei.nih.gov
Janelle Coles Histologist colesjs@mail.nih.gov
Michelle Roof Histologist (part time) roofm@mail.nih.gov
Mones Abu-Asab, Ph.D. Biologist & Head, EM Core mones@nei.nih.gov
Christopher Ardeljan, B.S. Post-baccalaureate IRTA Fellow christopher.ardeljan@nih.gov
Last Reviewed: 
January 2015