skip navigation

S M L Text size
Home » Research at NEI » Office of the Clinical Director

Office of the Clinical Director

Building 10, 10 CRC, Room 3-2531
10 Center Drive, MSC 1204
Bethesda, Maryland 20892-1204
Phone: (301) 496-9058
Fax: (301) 496-7295

Mission Statement

The Office of the Clinical Director coordinates, supervises and supports the conduct of intramural clinical research on the cause, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of diseases of the visual system and fosters the translation of advances in laboratory research into clinical applications. Provides infrastructure needed to promote high quality clinical research and to ensure patient safety, including protocol review, clinical informatics, and data and safety management; (2) monitors quality assurance of the intramural clinical research program; (3) coordinates the credentialing of health care providers within the Institute; (4) administers the ophthalmology consultation service to provide ophthalmic care for patients referred from other Institutes; and; (5) coordinates and provides clinical research training for NIH staff, fellows, and students.

Activities

1. Health care provider credentialing management and administration.
2. Clinical care and clinical research quality assurance.
3. Protocol management, administration, and development.
4. Fellowship support and training.
5. Educational support and development
6. Provides management and administrative support for the Eye Clinic.
7. Provide diagnostic and testing services in support of the Clinical Intramural Research Program.

The Office of the Clinical Director is composed of the following Branch and Sections:

Office of the Clinical Director

Consult Service Section

Clinical Operations Branch

Clinical Informatics Section
Clinical Services Section
Imaging Services Section
Clinical Trials Coordinating Section

Clinical Research Programs

For a complete list of studies conducted through the NEI Clinical Intramural Research Program, visit the NIH Clinical Studies Database.

Office of the Clinical Director

Name Title E-Mail Phone
Frederick Ferris III, M.D. Clinical Director flf@nei.nih.gov (301) 496-6583
Emily Chew, M.D. Deputy Clinical Director chewe@nei.nih.gov (301) 496-9058
Carl O. Clay Staff Assistant carl.clay@nih.gov (301) 496-9058

Consult Service Section

Name Title E-Mail Phone
Rachel Bishop, M.D. Chief, Consult Service Section bishopra@nei.nih.gov (301) 402-3771
Manuel Datiles, M.D. Medical Officer datilesm@nei.nih.gov (301) 594-7052

Clinical Operations Branch

Name Title E-Mail Phone
William O'Donnell, M.S., M.B.A. Chief, Clinical Operations Branch wrod@nei.nih.gov (301) 496-9059

Clinical Informatics Section

Name Title E-Mail Phone
Elizabeth Murphy, Ph.D. Chief, Clinical Informatics Section murphyl@nei.nih.gov (301) 402-4145
Nancy Chen Medical Record Administrator nancy.chen@nei.nih.gov (301) 402-8537

Clinical Services Section

Name Title E-Mail Phone
Guy E. Foster, COT Chief, Clinical Services Section fosterg@nei.nih.gov (301) 496-5846 ext 308
Darryl Hayes, COT Research Ophthalmic Technician hayesdc@mail.nih.gov (301) 496-5846
Dessie Koutsandreas, COA Research Ophthalmic Technician koutsand@nei.nih.gov (301) 496-5846
Roula Nashwinter, COA Research Ophthalmic Technician nashwinr@nei.nih.gov (301) 496-5846
John Rowan, COMT Research Ophthalmic Technician rowanj@nei.nih.gov (301) 496 5846
Debbie Payne, COT Research Ophthalmic Technician paynede@nei.nih.gov (301) 443-2868
Patrick Lopez Research Ophthalmic Technician LopezP@nei.nih.gov (301) 496-6739
Leanne Reuter Research Ophthalmic Technician Reuterl@nei.nih.gov (301) 496-4830
Enilo Balant, COMT Research Ophthalmic Technician enilo.balant@nih.gov (301) 496-5846
Xueyang Yin, COMT Research Ophthalmic Technician Xueyang.yin@nih.gov (301) 496-5846
Christina Appleman, COMT Research Ophthalmic Technician Christina.Appleman@nih.gov (301) 496-5846

Imaging Services Section

Name Title E-Mail Phone
Denise Cunningham, CRA, RBP, MEd Chief, Imaging Services Section cunninghamd@nei.nih.gov (301) 496-9715
Mike Arango Clinical Research Ophthalmic Photographer Mike.arango@nei.nih.gov (301) 496-9715
Alicia Zetina, CRA Clinical Research Ophthalmic Photographer zetinaa@nei.nih.gov (301) 541-6548
Michael Bono, CRA, COT Clinical Research Ophthalmic Photographer bonom@nei.nih.gov (301) 496-9716

Clinical Trials Coordinating Section

Name Title E-Mail Phone
Angel Garced, RN Clinical Trials Coordinator garceda@mail.nih.gov (301) 435-1831
Wendy Holland, RN, MSN Chief, Clinical Trials Coordinating Section aholland@nei.nih.gov (301) 435-1831
Meg Gordon, RN, CCRC Clinical Trials Coordinator meg.gordon@nei.nih.gov (301) 435-1833
Katherine Shimel, RN, COT, MS Clinical Trials Coordinator shimelk@nei.nih.gov (301) 402-2863
Patti Sherry, RN, CCRP Clinical Trials Coordinator sherryp@nei.nih.gov (301)435-4529
Allison Bamji, RN Clinical Trials Coordinator Bamjia@nei.nih.gov (301) 451-3437
Dominic Obiyor, RN, MBA Clinical Trials Coordinator dobiyor@nei.nih.gov (301) 435-4556
Alana Temple, RN Clinical Trials Coordinator templela@nei.nih.gov (301) 435-1833

Recent Publications

Active NEI Intramural Clinical Protocol Descriptions

Visit the NIH Clinical Studies Database for a list of clinical studies being conducted by the National Eye Institute at the Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center in Bethesda, Maryland. Complete descriptions and contact information is included for each study. Health care providers are encouraged to refer a patient to NEI studies.



Department of Health and Human Services NIH, the National Institutes of Health USA.gov