skip navigation

S M L Text size
Home » Grants and Funding » National Eye Institute: Division of Extramural Research

Division of Extramural Research

Mission Statement
Staff Contacts List

Mission Statement

The Division of Extramural Research (1) plans and directs programs of grant and cooperative agreement, support for basic and applied clinical research, training, and career development, concerning the blinding eye diseases, visual disorders, mechanisms of visual function, preservation of sight, and the special health problems and needs of individuals who are partially-sighted or blind; (2) plans and directs the grant and cooperative agreement management activities of the Institute, ensuring that all awards are made in accordance with applicable statutes, regulations, and policies; (3) provides the initial scientific and technical merit review of those research and training applications assigned to the Institute's Scientific Review Branch; (4) provides the Institute's committee management services, and provides logistical support for the National Advisory Eye Council; (5) provides advice to the Director on all issues relating to extramural research program activities; and, (6) participates in the planning, development, formulation, evaluation, and administration of the overall programs, policies, and operating procedures of the Institute.

All Staff May be Contacted by Phone at (301) 451-2020

Main Fax: (301) 402-0528

Grants Management Fax: (301) 496-9997

Director, Division of Extramural Research
Dr. Loré Anne McNicol
lam@nei.nih.gov

Extramural Policy Officer
Ellen S. Liberman, Ph.D., M.B.A.
esl@nei.nih.gov

Program Staff

Retinal Diseases Program
Fundamental Retinal Processes
Lisa A. Neuhold, Ph.D.
lneuhold@mail.nih.gov

Retinal Diseases
Grace L. Shen, Ph.D.
sheng@nei.nih.gov

Retinal Neuroscience
Thomas N. Greenwell, Ph.D.
greenwellt@mail.nih.gov

Corneal Diseases
George A. McKie, D.V.M., Ph.D.
mckiegeo@mail.nih.gov

Lens and Cataract
Oculomotor Systems and Neuro-Ophthalmology
Houmam Araj, Ph.D.
arajh@mail.nih.gov

Glaucoma and Optic Neuropathies
Hemin R. Chin, Ph.D.
hemin@nei.nih.gov

Strabismus, Amblyopia, & Visual Processing
Michael A. Steinmetz, Ph.D.
Steinmem@nei.nih.gov

Perception and Psychophysics
Low Vision and Blindness Rehabilitation
Cheri L. Wiggs, Ph.D
wiggsc@nei.nih.gov

Cross-Cutting Programs

Center Core Grant Program
Ellen S. Liberman, Ph.D., M.B.A.
esl@nei.nih.gov

Collaborative Clinical Research
Donald F. Everett, M.A.
deverett@nei.nih.gov

Maryann Redford, D.D.S., M.P.H.
maryann.redford@nei.nih.gov

Eleanor B. Schron, Ph.D.
schrone@mail.nih.gov

Louise Wideroff, Ph.D., M.S.P.H.
widerofl@nei.nih.gov

Myopia and Refractive Error
Cheri L. Wiggs, Ph.D.
wiggsc@nei.nih.gov

Research Resources
Houmam Araj, Ph.D.
arajh@mail.nih.gov

NIH Roadmap Nanomedicine Initiative, Project Team Leader
Richard S. Fisher, Ph.D.
rfisher@nei.nih.gov

Ocular Infection, Inflammation, and Immunology
George A. McKie, D.V.M., Ph.D.
mckiegeo@mail.nih.gov

Ocular Pain
Houmam Araj, Ph.D.
arajh@mail.nih.gov

NEI Training and Workforce Development Officer
Neeraj Agarwal, Ph.D.
agarwalnee@nei.nih.gov

Scientific Review Staff
Annie E. Schaffner, Ph.D., Chief
aes@nei.nih.gov

Brian A. Hoshaw, Ph.D.
hoshawb@nei.nih.gov

Grants Management Staff
FAX (301) 496-9997
William W. Darby, Chief
wwd@nei.nih.gov

Karen Robinson-Smith, Deputy Chief
karen.robinson.smith@nei.nih.gov

Pamela Bobbitt
bobbitp@mail.nih.gov

Sylvia Braxton
braxtons@mail.nih.gov

Monique K. Clark
clarkmk@nei.nih.gov

Linda Dingle
ltd@nei.nih.gov

Tina E. Jones
tej@nei.nih.gov

Kathleen L. Moy
klm@nei.nih.gov

Keturah Williams
williamskt@nei.nih.gov

Last Updated: April 2014



Department of Health and Human Services NIH, the National Institutes of Health USA.gov